Week of 1/8/18-1/12/18

德里斯科尔人文社

这周很忙! 学生学习了可以帮助他们进行STEM的新前缀:公斤和毫。 每个文学界的小组都进行了第二次讨论-学生们对同龄人提出了非常有趣和周到的问题! 学生还继续进行社会研究(了解古希腊),并探索使用比较/对比结构的文本。 学生们成对阅读了一篇比较民主和共和制政府制度的文章,然后创建了维恩图来研究差异和相似之处。 这与了解古代希腊民主的诞生息息相关。 学生还选择了他们的主题作为他们的最终意见论文,并开始研究/记录他们的主题并为他们的5段论文创建大纲。 我们迫不及待想在本季度末之前分享学生的最终论文,这一方法正在迅速发展! 周末愉快!

TTEM-STEM

在这短短的一周内,我们继续探索声音,特别是针对声波。 重点是查看频率,音调和音量。 我们还探索了波浪的不同部分,重点是压缩和稀疏。 在数学中,我们完成了几何图形,最后进行了形状转换和检查。 下周我们将从面积,周长和体积开始进行测量。 学生们还花时间在他们的最终产品上,以进行学习介绍。 下周我们将继续努力。 学生还开始为本季度学到的所有几何学术语制作闪存卡。 这是学习这些术语以期末考试以及下一个季度学习小数时的好方法。

 

卡萨伦戈-人文

本周在卡萨伦戈夫人的课堂上,我们继续进行我们的文学圈回应。 一些学生完成了本季度的小说。 您是否问过孩子他们在读什么书? 继续我们的比喻语言单元,我们学习了更多习语并阅读了有关明喻的书。 我们在古埃及开始了一个小组,随着季度末期临近,我们将很快通过它! 周末愉快,为期三天!

沃克-STEM

新年快乐,星期五快乐! 这周,我们在“所有组成部分和地球科学部门”(地壳及以下)中继续学习有关风化,侵蚀和沉积的知识。 我们还开始研究岩石循环和岩石的三种主要类型(变质,火成岩和沉积岩)。 在数学中,我们继续用分母不同的分数相加和相减。 学生学会了使用交叉乘法或找到最小公分母(LCD)。 此外,我们专注于使用最大公因子(GCF)以及素数和合成数简化分数。 学生们正在继续完成我们在地球科学系的视频项目。 我们的最终项目将于26年2018月XNUMX日截止。学生们将制作一个有趣且引人入胜的科学视频(例如Science Guy Bill Nye)作为他们的最终项目。 这些项目将在本季度末向家长开放。 请注意我们的学习展览演示文稿的邀请。 请给我发电子邮件adrion.walker @apsva.us,如果您想召开会议或有任何疑问。 我期待着您的回音。

 

Sanguino-人文科学

本周的人文学科,学生们尽管尽早结业,起步较晚,周三半天仍在努力工作! 在阅读中,学生使用文本功能来帮助他们理解非小说文本。 他们还运用了对主要思想的理解,以便为非小说类文章创建自己的标题,小标题和标题。 在写作方面,学生们在完成研究报告的草稿。 在社会研究中,学生阅读了旧石器时代和新石器时代,并比较并比较了当时的人们是如何从猎人和聚集地转向拥有稳定食物供应的农民的。 上周,学生们很幸运地邀请里贝蒂女士做演讲嘉宾。 她向学生们介绍了生活在亚马逊热带雨林中的土著群体。 我已经将她的照片与学生们分享了! 周末愉快!

演讲者1

Gallion-干

新年快乐! 我们经过了漫长的一周延迟和早期发布,才做到了这一点🙂我们一直在用十进制除以十进制单位。 学生不再使用余数-他们现在可以进行除法运算,直到找到整个商或直到千位为止(以证明它是重复的小数)。 学生们通过检查除法答案来继续练习十进制乘法-将商乘以除数。 在科学领域,学生们正在动摇雨林! 我们处于完全创建模式,他们正在构建3D模型并创建我们的生态系统! 我们很高兴宣布本季度末的学习日期介绍! 亲朋好友将被邀请在周三1/24从2:00 pm-3:30pm和周四1/25从2:00 pm-3:30pm参观雨林。 如果您喜欢放学,您的孩子可以在1/24星期三下午4点至下午5点引导您完成他们的项目。 我们期待您的光临!!! 请查看学生星期五文件夹,以查看课堂上的工作样本! 周末愉快

雨林1 雨林2 雨林3

Week of 1/8/18-1/12/18

Driscoll-Humanities

This week was very busy! Students learned new prefixes that will help them with STEM: kilo and milli. Every literature circle group had their second discussion- students had very interesting and thoughtful questions for their peers! Students also continued their work in social studies (learning about ancient Greece), and explored texts that use the compare/contrast structure. Students worked in pairs to read an article comparing democracy and republic systems of government, then created Venn diagrams to look at the differences and similarities. This tied into learning about the birth of democracy in ancient Greece. Students also picked their topics for their final opinion essay and began researching/taking notes on their topics and creating outlines for their 5-paragraph essays. We can’t wait to share students’ final writing before the end of the quarter, which is fast-approaching! Have a wonderful long weekend!

Tem- STEM

During this short week, we have continued exploring sound looking specifically at sound waves. This focused on looking at frequency, pitch, and volume. We also explored the different parts of a wave, focusing on compression and rarefaction. In math we finished geometry, ending with transformations of shapes and reviewing. We will be moving into measurement, beginning with area, perimeter, and volume next week. Students also spent time working on their final products for their presentation of learning. We will continue to work on these next week. Students have also started making flash cards for all the geometry terms learned this quarter. These are a great way to study these terms for the final exam as well as next quarter when they move to decimals.

 

Casalengo- Humanities

This week in Mrs. Casalengo’s class we continued with our Literature Circle responses. Some students have finished their novels for the quarter. Have you asked your child what they have been reading? Continuing with our figurative language unit, we learned more idioms and read a book about similes. We started a unit on Ancient Egypt and will go through it quickly as the end of the quarter is just around the corner! Have a wonderful three-day weekend!

Walker- STEM

Happy New Year and Happy Friday Again! This week in Everything Fractions and Earth Science Unit (The crust and below) we continued to learn about weathering, erosion, and deposition. We also began studying the rock cycle and the three main types of rocks (metamorphic, igneous, and sedimentary). In math we continued to add and subtract fractions and mixed numbers with unlike denominators. Students learned to a cross multiply method or finding the least common denominator (LCD). In addition, we focused on simplifying fractions using the greatest common factor (GCF) and Prime and Composite numbers. Students are continuing to complete their video projects on our Earth Science Unit. Our final project is due January 26, 2018. Students will be creating a fun and engaging science video (like Bill Nye the Science Guy) as their final project. The projects will be available for parents see at the end of the quarter. Look out for an invitation to our Presentation of Learning Exhibit. Please email me at adrion.walker@apsva.us if you would like to set up a meeting or have a question. I look forward to hearing from you.

 

Sanguino- Humanities

This week in humanities, students were hard at work despite the early closing, late start, and half day Wednesday! In reading, students used text features to help aid in their comprehension of nonfiction text. They also applied their understanding of the main idea in order to create their own titles, subheadings, and captions for nonfiction articles. In writing, students worked on completing their rough drafts of their research reports. In social studies, students read about the Paleolithic Age and Neolithic Age and compared and contrasted how people of those time periods went from hunters and gathers to farmers with a stable food supply. Last week, students were fortunate enough to have Ms. Ribetti as a guest speaker. She educated the students about the indigenous groups of people who live in the Amazon Rainforest. I’ve attached a photo of her with the students to share! Happy weekend!

Speaker 1

Gallion- STEM

Happy New Year! We made it through our weird week of delays and early releases 🙂 We’ve been wrapping up our decimal unit with dividing with decimals. Students are no longer using remainders—they now divide out until they find the whole quotient or until the thousandths place (to prove it is a repeating decimal). Students have continued to practice decimal multiplication by checking their division answers—-multiplying the quotient by the divisor. In science, students are rocking the rainforest! We are in full create mode and they are constructing their 3D models and creating our ecosystem! We are excited to announce our presentation of learning dates for the end of this quarter! Friends and family will be invited to visit the rainforest on Wednesday 1/24 from 2:00pm-3:30pm and Thursday 1/25 from 2:00pm-3:30pm. If you prefer to come after school, your child can walk you through their projects on Wednesday 1/24 from 4pm-5pm. We look forward to your visits!!! Please check out the students Friday folder to see work samples from class! Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

Rainforest 1 Rainforest 2 Rainforest 3