ESOL

ESOL TEAM

Talita.Stroh@apsva.us – Kindergarten contact

MaryAnn.Hoffman@apsva.us – First grade contact

Susan.Tucker@apsva.us – Second grade contact

Danielle.Delanoy@apsva.us / Catherine.Gaudian@apsva.us – Third grade contact

Samantha.Doland@apsva.us – Fourth grade contact

Cecilia.Cano@apsva.us – Fifth grade contact

Beth.Jones2@apsva.us – Instructional Assistant

Celebrate diversity!

Welcome! The ESOL team at Oakridge supports students from diverse cultural and linguistic backgrounds. HILT is for students with beginning English language proficiency, and ESOL is for students with advanced English proficiency.

The ESOL team provides English Learners (ELs) and their classroom teachers with support and resources. During the language acquisition process, ELs are expected to meet and maintain the same high levels of academic achievement as their peers.

You can find out more information about the ESOL program by visiting the ESOL website at Arlington Public Schools.

WELCOME international students and families!!

New Family Orientation Slideshow (September 12, 2018)

Parent Meeting Fall 2018

 


ANNUAL ENGLISH LANGUAGE ASSESSMENT:

All ELs in Virginia receive an English academic language proficiency assessment annually. The ACCESS for ELLs measures proficiency in four domains: speaking, listening, reading, writing. The assessment incorporates Social Language and Instructional Language (i.e., the language of language arts, math, science and social studies). ACCESS monitors students’ progress in acquiring academic English, and provides a current level of English language proficiency along the developmental continuum. For more information, contact your child’s grade level ESOL contact or visit WIDA.

ONLINE LANGUAGE ARTS RESOURCES:

Starfall

Childrens Digital Library

PebbleGo

ONLINE MATH RESOURCES:

Math Expressions- for families and students

Jenny Eather’s Math Dictionary For Kids

Google Translate